Drivers Ed Solutions | Logout Edit Page

Rules & Regulations

How do I get my Learner's Permit?

You must be at least 16 years old to get your Learner's Permit. Pennsylvania law requires that you first complete an approved driver education program. The course may be completed in a traditional classroom or online. Once you receive your Certificate of Completion, you can take the DMV written permit exam that is required to get your Learners Permit.

You are required to take the Learners Permit test at the DMV. Our exclusive DMV practice exam software, PrepWizard, will help prepare you for this test so you can pass it on your first try! It is an online program that contains thousands of real DMV written exam questions.

Once you have a permit, you may start driving under the supervision of an adult.

View the complete process on the DMV's website.

How do I get my Driver's License?

If you are under 18 and would like to get your driver's license, Pennsylvania law requires you to log 65 hours of supervised driving with a licensed driver who is 21 years old or older. Five hours must be during inclement weather and 10 hours must be at night.

Junior Driver's License:

Once you've completed your behind-the-wheel training hours, you can schedule your road test with PennDOT and move on to your junior driver's license. You must be at least 16 years old and have had your learner's permit for at least 6 months.

  • You can drive unsupervised during non-restricted hours and to/from work or a volunteer service.
  • You can drive supervised between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m with a parent or guardian who is at least 21 years old or a spouse who is at least 18 years old.
  • During the first 6 months of your junior license, you are restricted to only one passenger younger than 18 years old. After 6 months, you can only carry up to three passengers younger than 18 years old. These restrictions are waived if your passengers are your immediate family members or you are accompanied by your parent or guardian.

View the complete process on the DMV's website.

Senior Driver's License (regular license):

  • 17 1/2 years old with the completion of an approved driver's ed course, held a Junior driver's license for one year, and have no accidents or convictions. Your junior driver's license will automatically become a senior license when you turn 18 years old.
  • 18 years old without driver's ed and have no accidents or convictions.
View the complete process on the DMV's website.

What to Bring to the DMV

Before heading down to the DMV, it's a good idea to make an appointment. Be sure to bring the following items:

  • Proof of Identity (birth certificate, valid passport, or certificate of US citizenship)
  • Your Social Security Card

Learner's Permit:

Junior Driver's License:

  • Your Learner's Permit
  • Completed DL-180C Parent or Guardian Certification Form (This form must be notarized or signed before an examiner at a driver license office.)
  • Proof of Your Car Insurance
  • Vehicle Registration
  • Driver's License of Your Supervising Driver